Pierre Heilbronn

Vice President, Policy and Partnerships, European Bank of Reconstruction and Development

Pierre Heilbronn has overall responsibility for the formulation, communication, coordination and implementation of the Bank’s country and sector strategies, the Bank’s policy engagement, technical cooperation assignments, and related initiatives upholding and supporting the Bank’s transition mandate. The Vice President is responsible of the application of the political aspects of the Bank’s mandate, taking the lead on EBRD engagement with countries of operation, EU institutions and other key external organisations and stakeholders especially civil society groups. He has also overall accountability on the mobilisation and management of donor funds. The Vice President is a member of the Executive Committee and chairs the Strategy and Policy Committee.

Mr Heilbronn has 20 years of experience in policymaking in the domestic, European and the broader global context. Before joining the EBRD in November 2016, he was deputy chief of staff for France’s Minister of Economy and Finance. For three years, he supervised the devising and implementation of the economic strategy aimed at increasing the competitiveness of companies, restoring the credibility of public finances, improving the transparency of economic life and opening up new opportunities for businesses and households. He was also directly involved in the international and European agendas, especially the implementation of the Juncker plan, the development policy agenda associated with the French presidency of COP21, and also in banking
and financial markets issues.

Before that, he served as the European advisor of the French Prime Minister and for six years supervised the handling of most European dossiers managing the department in charge of European coordination under the Prime Minister’s authority. Notably, he coordinated the French Presidency of the European Union of 2008, led the French engagement with the G20, the European Council and the Eurogroup/ECOFIN. He extensively dealt with issues linked to the stabilisation of the euro area, the enlargement of the European Union, major multilateral and bilateral trade
negotiations and played a decisive role in helping to define, develop and deliver assistance to Greece in response to the crisis.

Earlier in his career, Mr Heilbronn assisted in the definition and creation of the European External Action Service. Acting as head of Cabinet of the European Commissioner for External Relations and Management of Development Aid, he worked directly on the Neighbourhood policy and was responsible for the management of EU development aid at all stages of the programming cycle.

Pierre Heilbronn started his career in the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Department of European cooperation) and in the Ministry of Finance (Inspection générale des Finances and Directorate of Tax Legislation).

Mr Heilbronn graduated from the Institut d’Etudes politiques de Paris (Sciences Po) and the Ecole nationale d’administration (ENA). He holds a Master of Economics from Cambridge University and a Master of European studies from the College of Europe of Bruges. He also studied at Yale University and Georgetown University (Walsh School of Foreign Service).

Read about event

Upcoming Event


Bruegel Annual Meetings 2019

Bruegel's 2019 Annual Meetings will be held on 4-5 September and feature the launch of Bruegel's Memos to the New European Commission.

Speakers: Lorenzo Bini Smaghi, Laurence Boone, Claire Bury, Vítor Constâncio, Zsolt Darvas, Jérôme Delpech, Kris Dekeyser, Maria Demertzis, Baroness Kishwer Falkner of Margravine, Alicia García-Herrero, Mikaela Gavas, Sven Giegold, José Manuel González-Páramo, Sylvie Goulard, Pierre Heilbronn, Mathew Heim, Jamie Heywood, Yi Huang, Danuta Hübner, Korbinian Ibel, Shada Islam, Kate Kalutkiewicz, Brigitte Knopf, Bernd Lange, Christian Leffler, Päivi Leino-Sandberg, Mark Leonard, Cecilia Malmström, Stefano Manservisi, J. Scott Marcus, Ann Mettler, Ashoka Mody, Reza Moghadam, Erik F. Nielsen, Jean Pisani-Ferry, Lapo Pistelli, Lucrezia Reichlin, Joakim Reiter, André Sapir, Olaf Scholz, Harriet Sena Siaw-Boateng, Philipp Steinberg, Alexander Stubb, Ezequiel Szafir, Jean-Claude Trichet, Laura Tyson, Nicolas Véron, Reinhilde Veugelers, Sabine Weyand, Thomas Wieser, Guntram B. Wolff, Georg Zachmann and Victoria Roig Topic: Energy & Climate, European Macroeconomics & Governance, Finance & Financial Regulation, Global Economics & Governance, Innovation & Competition Policy Location: Palais des Academies, Rue Ducale 1, 1000 Brussels