Sven Giegold

MEP, European Parliament

July 2019: Re-election as spokesperson of the delegation of German Greens in the European parliament

June 2019: Re-election as Green coordinator in the committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECON); Substitute member of the Environment and Health committee (ENVI); Member of the European Parliament’s delegation to the EFTA countries and Switzerland

May 2019: Re-elected Member of the European Parliament. German Greens scored at 20,5%.

January 2019: Winning a campaign for binding lobby transparency in the European Parliament

November 2018: Nomination as co-lead candidate of the German Greens

Since July 2018: Member of the board of the cross-party federalist “Spinelli Group”

January 2018: Co-opted member of the board of Alliance 90/The Greens North Rhine-Westphalia

Since October 2015: Chair of the board of the “European Christian Convention

October 2015: Elected as Member of the Presidential committee of the German Protestant Church Congress

September 2015: Support of the founding of

February 2015: Winning a campaign for the establishment of a special committee on the Investigation of the LuxLeaks scandals (“TAXE”), coordinator of the Greens/EFA group; followed by three more similar committees on tax fraud, tax avoidance and financial crimes

June 2014: Election as spokesperson of the German Green group in European Parliament

June 2014: Re-elected as member of the party board of Alliance 90 / The Greens North-Rhine-Westphalia

May 2014: Re-elected as Member of European Parliament, Economic and Financial spokesperson of the Greens / EFA group, Member of the ECON (Eonomic and monetary affairs) committee, deputy member of the AFET (constituional affiars), member of the delegation to Albania

Nov 2013: Re-elected as Member of the Presidential assembly of the German protestant Church congress

Mar 2012: Elected party board member of Alliance 90 / Greens North-Rhine-Westphalia

Jan 2010: Co-founder of the Institute Solidarische Moderne e.V. (Berlin)

July 2009: Elected Member of the European Parliament, Coordinator of the Greens/ EFA group in the Economic and Monetary Affairs committee

2007-2015: Member of the Presidential assembly of the German Protestant Church Congress

2002: Co-founder and chair of the International Tax Justice Network (London)

2002-2007 European Attac coordination

since 2001 speeches and presence in the media on alterglobalism, ecology and tax policy

2000: co-founder of Attac Germany, representative of Friends of the Earth Germany in the council of Attac

1998: co-founder and managing director of the Green housing co-operative AllerWohnen eG

1996-1999 member of the management board of the green business centre Ökologischen Zentrums in Verden (Lower Saxony) with 50 jobs created in ecological enterprises and social initiatives

1986 – 2001: Volunteer in the youth environment movement

Read about event

Upcoming Event


Bruegel Annual Meetings 2019

Bruegel's 2019 Annual Meetings will be held on 4-5 September and feature the launch of Bruegel's Memos to the New European Commission.

Speakers: Lorenzo Bini Smaghi, Laurence Boone, Claire Bury, Vítor Constâncio, Zsolt Darvas, Jérôme Delpech, Kris Dekeyser, Maria Demertzis, Baroness Kishwer Falkner of Margravine, Alicia García-Herrero, Mikaela Gavas, Sven Giegold, José Manuel González-Páramo, Sylvie Goulard, Pierre Heilbronn, Mathew Heim, Jamie Heywood, Yi Huang, Danuta Hübner, Korbinian Ibel, Shada Islam, Kate Kalutkiewicz, Brigitte Knopf, Bernd Lange, Christian Leffler, Päivi Leino-Sandberg, Mark Leonard, Cecilia Malmström, Stefano Manservisi, J. Scott Marcus, Ann Mettler, Ashoka Mody, Reza Moghadam, Erik F. Nielsen, Jean Pisani-Ferry, Lapo Pistelli, Lucrezia Reichlin, Joakim Reiter, André Sapir, Olaf Scholz, Harriet Sena Siaw-Boateng, Philipp Steinberg, Alexander Stubb, Ezequiel Szafir, Jean-Claude Trichet, Laura Tyson, Nicolas Véron, Reinhilde Veugelers, Sabine Weyand, Thomas Wieser, Guntram B. Wolff, Georg Zachmann and Victoria Roig Topic: Energy & Climate, European Macroeconomics & Governance, Finance & Financial Regulation, Global Economics & Governance, Innovation & Competition Policy Location: Palais des Academies, Rue Ducale 1, 1000 Brussels